Resistance is futile!

October 28, 2011

sickle cell

“Can we have organic soda?” “If we can find some with no added sugar, we’ll see Morgan” I said. I knew this would be hard on them because when I talked to them and told them why we were making this change, they seemed to zone out. They seemed understand intellectually, but not necessarily emotionally. That’s not to say I thought for even one second they would come along willingly, I just thought they would try. I believe changing Madi’s diet will change her life and her prognosis. Not everyone believes that your diet, i.e. what you eat, what you don’t eat, the vitamins you get and which ones are deficient effect how you feel, how you fight off infection and how your immune system defends itself, I do. I am convinced that we can not eat what ever we want, when ever we want and still look and feel our best. You will eventually feel the effects of nutrient deprivation, fast food, additives, preservatives and the hormones they put in our meat. Maybe someday they will thank me, maybe they’ll hate me forever. I don’t know. I don’t care. We’re going organic kicking and screaming. 🙂

When their grandmother picked them up from school the other day she asked, “What would you guys like to eat?” Grandma is sympathetic and will usually get them whatever they ask for. But on this day, I had already talked to grandma and explained what I was trying to do so, she knew and I had suspected they would try something. Sure enough, Morgan said, “I want pizza!” Madi wanted McDonald’s. Grandma said, “Has your mom talked to you about eating healthier foods?” They said unanimously, “Yes.” She then asked why they were trying to get pizza and McDonald’s from her. Morgan explained, “I need junk food. Swimming keeps me healthy. I’m a kid! Kids are supposed to have junk food!” I don’t know where she got that idea but, no they are not. It is not the right of every kid to have junk food. Junk food is a treat that parents give to children. It is not a right. Nice try Morgan. Madi says she’s skinny enough and eating only organic will make her lose weight. Nope, if you’re eating the right foods and getting the proper nutrition, you should gain weight. It is my job to make sure you get all the calories and nutrients you need. Nice try Madi.

This isn’t easy for me either! I don’t want to give up Doritos (MSG’s), or McDonald’s (high in fat, calories and meat fillers) or pizza but I will, because Madi doesn’t need me eating that stuff around her. Madi needs to build her immune system. She’s needs to realize she has more control over her health than she thinks. I can help her with that – Me, the juicer, Gerson and others who have written books on the subject.

, , , , ,

Keep in Touch!

Thanks for your support! It means the world to us.

2 Comments on “Resistance is futile!”

  1. SomerEmpress Says:

    Yay! She’s back! I’m happy to see you back here, Rena! I’ve been waiting for a post. I hope you are enjoying the fall. Sometimes making food/nutrition changes in the family can be difficult, but ultimately, the kids will do whatever you train them to do. I wish you well with the changes. I think they’ll be for the better…but you already know that!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

