She made it through two years of treatment for a cure… Grateful!

I am happy I found this video. This is what I want for Madison and every child with this disease. Two years is a long time and the journey was not an easy one but, seeing this beautiful young lady now, lets me know every test, probe, chemotherapy, all the time away from school, friends and family was all worth it. She says she is the first ever cured of sickle cell disease. I haven’t checked the facts on that, it’s irrelevant. I really don’t care if it’s true. The fact is she’s cured and has her life back. She has been blessed. The Detroit Walk for Sickle Cell is happening so that we can hear more stories like this one.  Thank you St. Jude! And, thank you to her parents for being persistent and diligent for her.

The more this treatment is practiced to cure sickle cell, the better the experts will become at it. Her journey to a cure was two years. I have heard of sickle cell patients needing care 5-10 years after their bone marrow transplant. It is getting better and will continue to get better. Each child is different and the treatment facility in charge of caring for sickle cell patients have to be aggressive, passionate and progressive in their treatment options. St. Jude is on the ball and hospitals will follow their lead.  Enjoy watching the video. I know I did.

Please support the Detroit Walk for Sickle Cell as the funds raised will go to facilities like St. Jude.  Thank you!!!

Young Girl Cured of sickle cell!

, , , , , ,

Keep in Touch!

Thanks for your support! It means the world to us.

5 Comments on “She made it through two years of treatment for a cure… Grateful!”

  1. SomerEmpress Says:

    What an amazing story, Rena! Our God is a God of miracles! In addition, it is through Him that medicine continues to make advances and developments that make it easier for many afflicted to live fuller and healthier lives. I believe that there will most definitely be a cure in my lifetime. Each individual responds differently to each treatment, and when s/he does, then that’s a cure in my book! Khadi’s progress and journey with and without sicklle cell disease is a remarkable one! I will stay plugged in to hear the amazing strides that Madi will undoubtedly make in her own journey. Thanks for posting. 🙂

    BTW, did you get the sense that Khadi is a twin?

    Reply

  2. SomerEmpress Says:

    What an amazing story, Rena! Our God is a God of miracles! In addition, it is through Him that medicine continues to make advances and developments that make it easier for many afflicted to live fuller and healthier lives. I believe that there will most definitely be a cure in my lifetime. Each individual responds differently to each treatment, and when s/he does, then that’s a cure in my book! Khadi’s progress and journey with and without sickle cell disease is a remarkable one! I will stay plugged in to hear the amazing strides that Madi will undoubtedly make in her own journey. Thanks for posting. 🙂

    BTW, did you get the sense that Khadi is a twin?

    Reply

    • Rena Says:

      Thanks for the donation!! I like to call you Somer but I will stop if you want me to! After all I’ve known your first name for a while now. 🙂
      Yes, this young lady and her story inspires me and re-news my hope. I got the feeling her parents had another child to save her life with hopes to use the stem cells and/or bone marrow for the transplant. The brother, shown only briefly, looks younger than her.

      Reply

  3. SomerEmpress Says:

    You’re welcome! I hope to make more regular contributions soon. Somer is fine for this forum. For emails, the “real” name is fine. Since you don’t have to write me checks, it’s no biggie! 🙂

    Perhaps you can do a separate post on stem cell research?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

