“Please take responsibility for the energy you bring into this room.” Oprah Winfrey

May 26, 2011

sickle cell

Signature of American television personality, ...

Image via Wikipedia

Yesterday I watched the last taped Oprah Winfrey show. As usual she inspired me, made me cry and made me laugh.

Before the show came on, that morning I had begun to question ‘who’ I am and better still, ‘whose’ I am. I asked myself, as I had on many occasions, “Who am I to be successful? Who am I to raise money for sickle cell and change lives? Who do I think I am?” The answer seemed pretty clear after watching the Oprah Winfrey show. I am everyone. I am no one. And, I am anyone who dares to love enough, care enough, trust enough and try hard enough. I am no one special but I can work hard and “ask” for support. I control the energy I bring into the room. I control the energy I bring to my work. I take responsibility for my energy, my successes and my failures. I take the responsibility for how I let the ups and downs of life affect me. Thank you Oprah!!!

For a long time, I have been afraid to admit out loud that my child may not live to see a cure for this disease as her condition seems to be advancing. Because of that, the MHF brand has to become as strong and as well-known as some of the more popular charities so that its legacy will live well after she and I are gone. People have to see, understand and know the benefits of donating to MHF. How can I do that? How will I get people to care about sickle cell disease? Who will give to this cause? I don’t know now. But, every morning I get up and I do something that will add to our mission and goals.

I have a long ways to go and I’m not starting in the back woods of Mississippi in the 1950’s. Hopefully my road won’t be as hard as that. I’m not Oprah but I am LOVE –just like her. I am ENERGY –just like her. I love my child and I think she deserves a long, infection and pain-free life. Funding a cure will give her and every other sickle cell patient all over the world a chance to achieve their dreams. So, I keep moving and I keep giving. Remember Oprah sang the song, “Run On” on her show?? 🙂 that’s me now!

Here are some statistics to consider while you consider what charity to donate to this year:

  • Millions of people world-wide have sickle cell disease
  • 250,00 people die each year from sickle cell disease related illnesses
  • Sickle cell patients have a 40 year mortality rate
  • 10% of children born with this disease die within the first year
  • Sickle cell disease is a blood cancer and a genetic disease passed down from generation to generation
,

Keep in Touch!

Thanks for your support! It means the world to us.

3 Comments on ““Please take responsibility for the energy you bring into this room.” Oprah Winfrey”

  1. SomerEmpress Says:

    Rena darling! I’m behind on my blog reading. I have a good excuse, though! Love, love, love this post. I am beginning to feel you as you open your soul to what the universe is trying to teach you. “Run on!” woman as you bring that energy, that raison d’etre, that purpose…as we find a cure in THIS here lifetime. You are a spark that can start a fire. Never underestimate the significance of that. I will make a donation as soon as possible (it is on my To-Do list still since I didn’t give for the Bowling Fundraiser), but I know that the work that you do is an important one. Continue to raise awareness, and yes MONEY that your daughter, our daughters, our children can live with the knowledge that even more HELP IS ON THE WAY! P.S. I’ve shared this article on my FB Profile. 🙂

    P.S. I also watched that last Oprah segment. Very moving, indeed! I will continue blogging, but I’m working on writing that novel, that book that needs to be written for me, for someone…in THIS lifetime. Be well, ladybug! 🙂

    Reply

    • Rena Says:

      You are so sweet Somer! Thank you for continuing to support me here. Thank you for sharing this with your friends! That’s awesome!

      Reply

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Prepare for the worst, hope for the best or affect the outcome? | Madison Holland Foundation - June 28, 2011

    […] “Please take responsibility for the energy you bring into this room.” Oprah Winfrey (madisonhollandfoundation.com) […]

Leave a Reply

