Pain and Meditation

May 1, 2011

Research, sickle cell

Woo Sa!

Is it the art of meditation, the science of meditation or the practice of meditation? I guess it depends on how you look at it. If you’ve mastered it, you might call it an art –As in, I’ve mastered the art of meditation therefore, I can clear my mind of all the clutter and de-stress myself. I envy this person. If you’re pretty consistent and you rely on it every day to level your Chi, you might call it a practice. But, if you’re anything like me and you can only dream of that level of concentration and relaxation, you might conclude it MUST be a science –A highly intricate scientific method only enjoyed by a few. I have tried to meditate over and over again with no success. I’ve read books on meditation, listened to CD’s talking me through the clearing of my mind and I have listened to the ocean, streams and crickets, nothing works! I’m not for giving up though so, I know I will eventually find the method that works for me.

Like anyone who experiences pain on a regular basis, I’ll try almost anything. I’ve always known there are benefits to meditation but some studies show it can actually soothe chronic pain. Consider adding meditation to your treatment plan as the spiritual approach to the myriad of medicines and treatments offered. And, acupuncture could be added if only to see if it works your specific problems. I’m all for holistic medicine. In fact, I have decided to spend more time exploring its benefits and advantages. The more I read about acupuncture, the more I support its usage. We have to consider more than just the pharmaceutical way. However, westerners have little faith in eastern medicines ability to heal and I’m no different. I hate to admit I have never tried acupuncture or Qigong. First sign of trouble, I seek an MD or my pill bottle. Acupuncture, Qigong and meditation are eastern treatments that require a bit of faith. You have to believe it can work, or at the very least, walk in to the treatment with an open mind.

Holistic and eastern medicines are not new. It is in fact older than anything we do here in America. There must be some truth to it. Jesus said, “your faith has made you whole.” (See footnote) I believe him. He also said, “if you believe you can be healed by my touch, you will be healed” and I believe that too. I don’t know a lot, but I do know Jesus was not a magician. He was not playing tricks on people. He was trying to teach us something about our faith or lack there of. WHOA! Whoa! Have I compared what Jesus did to eastern and holistic medicine? Maybe. Take it easy though. There is some proof it works. Do your own research! And, don’t take anything off the table in your search for some relief, because the moment you do, you’ve unconsciously given up. Don’t do that to yourself or the ones you love. Keep your heart and your mind open. Woo Sa!

(footnote: Mark 5:34 & 10:52, Matt 9:22 & 15:28, Luke 8:48 & 17:19)

, , , , , , , , , ,

Keep in Touch!

Thanks for your support! It means the world to us.

5 Comments on “Pain and Meditation”

  1. Acupuncture Mont-Tremblant Says:

    Don’t feel guilty for not yet having tried acupuncture. Running to your MD is a reflex that eventually wears off! I think a lot more people would try acupuncture if they knew how many problems it can help resolve. And no, one does not need to believe in acupuncture for it to work. Proof is evident with its success on animals and children. Have a sweet day!

    Reply

  2. therapy marketing Says:

    At first, acupuncture was accepted mainly for pain relief. But as more patients were treated with acupuncture, it has gained general acceptance as an alternative medicine.
    The intent of acupuncture therapy is to promote health and alleviate pain and suffering.
    Regular acupuncture treatment maintains the body’s good health. It has many benefits such as: improves the immune system, releases stress as it calms the mind, relaxes the muscles & tendons, improves sleep, and detoxifies the body, as it releases beneficial hormones such as endorphin & dynorphin. Even doctors recommend acupuncture as a form of physical theraphy.

    Reply

  3. SomerEmpress Says:

    Rena, thanks for such a well-written article, and such useful information! (Thanks for the footnotes as well. We can ALL use a reminder…or two!) Namaste!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

