I have three favorite words

February 22, 2011

General

Madison Holland Foundation

If I had to put my favorite words in order of most favorite, resilience would be first. This is my favorite word because of the inevitability of life’s road blocks, tragedies and unexpected events. It is not the events of your past that determines who you are, it is how you deal with the unexpected or tragic things that happen that determines who you are. Having the support and tools to deal helps but ultimately it is your resilience that sustains you and keeps you moving forward. When you get knocked down over and over and keep getting up, you are resilient. I am resilient. I am not easily broken, deterred or turned around.

Perseverance is my second favorite word. Dictionary.com’s definition of the word is “steady persistence in a course of action, a purpose, a state, etc., especially in spite of difficulties, obstacles, or discouragement.” In a lot of ways, the word is related to resilience for me. It has a lot to do with my up bringing and the tragedies and difficulties I faced as a child and as an adult. “Life for me ain’t been no crystal stair.” Langston Hughes

Flexibility is third but by no means any less important to me. Being flexible allows the human mind to find ways around stumbling blocks. Flexibility is the gift that allows you to move with the wind. To be rigid in the wind would break even the strongest person given enough wind.

, , , , , ,

Keep in Touch!

Thanks for your support! It means the world to us.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

