The worst teacher I’ve ever had…

February 11, 2011

General

I don’t know if it’s fair to say he was the worst teacher, but I couldn’t understand a word he said. He talked to our seventh grade algebra class while standing on top of his desk and in the window sill. He was constantly moving. To me, this was distracting. It made me feel like he was speaking a foreign language. The ‘Charlie Brown’ classroom scene for real. I didn’t understand what we were doing and I was afraid I would fail or worse, they would pass me to the next grade without understanding.

So, when the seventh grade student counselor came in to our homeroom to request volunteers to be transferred to a different class, I happily volunteered. I went to a different math class with a teacher who saw right away, I had gaps in my learning. He graciously started from the beginning. I felt so grateful! To this day I thank God for Mr. Gentry. If it weren’t for him, I would have been passed along in math not understanding any of it.

, , , , , ,

Keep in Touch!

Thanks for your support! It means the world to us.

2 Comments on “The worst teacher I’ve ever had…”

  1. SJ Jones Says:

    Wasn’t it a blessing to go from the worst teacher ever to a great teacher that was not only good at his job, but also willing to help? I have such a huge respect for good teachers. I’ve said for a long time that I’d like to teach after I retire from my career job. I think teaching is one of the greatest ways to give. You’re a witness as to how much a teacher can impact a child.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

