Reactionary Responses

February 6, 2011

General

One of the things I love most about my brother Shannon is he never has reactionary responses. He doesn’t allow other people’s behavior to effect his behavior or his final decisions. He seems to always do ‘the right or the best thing’ in every situation. I don’t know how he came to be this way or how he manages to keep his composure no matter how stressful the situation, but I admire this ability in him and wish I could be more like that.

My brother

I’ve never seen him have an emotional reaction and that’s not to say he doesn’t have them, I just have never seen it. He seems to make calculated well thought out decisions only. The Madison Holland Foundation, however, was born out of an emotional reaction to visions of Madison’s future after hearing a diagnosis of a persistently high sickling percentage. High sickle levels can cause damage to organs and possibly stroke. I just think this shouldn’t be happening. This cancer has terrorized our community for 100 years. This thing is not bigger than us, we are bigger than it! Sickle cell will not beat us, we will beat it.

I am emotional about it but my brother is with me and he can handle the decisions that need calculation.

, , ,

Keep in Touch!

Thanks for your support! It means the world to us.

2 Comments on “Reactionary Responses”

  1. Tracie Says:

    Rena you never give yourself credit. I have never seen you break a sweat when faced with adversity. As you stated your brother doesn’t show it ,neither do you. I know your not made of steel and you have your moments. Overall, all the decisions you have made professionally and personally have been calculated and well thought out decisions as well. Ive watched you and made you my mentor because of how well you handle things. You have helped me grow as a person and I am also here to help you in this journey.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

