“Writing is the only thing that, when I do it, I don’t feel like I should be doing something else.” G. Steinem

February 3, 2011

General

We discovered each other 1988  —writing and I. While reading the book, The Pearl, written by John Steinbeck in 1947. We read it in class, as a class. Our assignment was to write a five page paper based on our thoughts on the book. I had lots of ideas about the paper right from the start. As we read, I jotted down notes and geared up for writing the paper. I knew how I would close the paper before I knew how I would open it. I had discovered the moral of the story and wanted to make the journey there as descriptive as possible. In writing about the story, The Pearl, I discovered my favorite thing to do is writing. It was good for me and I am good for it. We’ve gotten better acquainted over the years and now I can’t live without it. The more I write, the more I learn, and the more I write.

What I love about writing is, it’s a lot like art, you can make it do whatever you want. Words make pictures, inspire, create and re-create. While there are rules to follow, they can always be bent as long as the bend makes sense. I lose myself in writing. Writing helps me forget my troubles.

My eleventh grade teacher loved what I had written about The Pearl and encouraged me to continue. With her help, I had found something I was good at and thoroughly enjoyed. I had always read a lot and when I discovered I could also write well, I began writing a lot. I wrote plays, poetry, and short stories. To this day, I still feel like Gloria Steinem who said, “Writing is the only thing that, when I do it, I don’t feel like I should be doing something else.” I love to write. I love to read. –Always have. It’s the one thing I’m not ashamed of getting totally immersed in. I can block everything and everyone out while I write.

Discovering your gift is a unique experience. I wish everyone could find what really makes them tick and run with that. If more people did, there would be more entrepreneurs, more inventors and innovators. Sickle cell disease would probably be cured by now. People would feel less threaten by the success of others. My success could inspire yours and your success could fuel mine. We all have a gift. But, not all of us are afforded time and opportunity to discover and develop their gift. So, when you are not given the opportunity, you have to take it. When you start running with an idea, people will follow you. It’s great the way that works? Passion is contagious.

Doing what you are supposed to be doing is just as simple as doing what you love.

, , , ,

Keep in Touch!

Thanks for your support! It means the world to us.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

