Trying not to kill my dog

January 30, 2011

General

Our Dog Mercy

I’ve never had a dog before, so I was really just looking forward to the fun stuff — cuddling, playing and hanging out with him. I didn’t realize how much I’d hate the other stuff –getting up in the middle of the night to take him out, getting up in the middle of the night to take him out and getting up in the middle of the night to take him out. It makes me tired and sleepy and unhappy.

This dog is no fun! He will not be fun until he learns to sleep through the night. The dog was a gift to the twins from my dad. But, they can’t get up with him on school nights. Anyway, I think he likes me more than he likes them. I think he gets depressed when I’m not around.

Caring for animals is supposed to have healing properties. So, caring for Mercy, our new dog, should be good for Madison. It’ll be good for her to focus her attention on something/someone else. That is, if I don’t kill him in my sleep deprived delirium. Sickle cell disease requires a lot of time and care, like the dog. I’m enjoying watching her with him.

, , , ,

Keep in Touch!

Thanks for your support! It means the world to us.

2 Comments on “Trying not to kill my dog”

  1. Tracie Says:

    A dog is very similar to having a newborn baby.

    Reply

    • Rena Says:

      LOL! I wrote this at 3 am this morning on my blackberry. I inadvertently hit the send button. I love my dog! I promise not to kill him –not while I’m conscious anyway.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

