The girls have never had a Twinkie!

January 25, 2011

General

Growing up, Twinkies were an essential part of every child’s diet. They were the treat of choice for the low cost $.35. We didn’t live far from the Hostess bakery, so we could smell them baking. Back then they smelled like cake and they contained real sugar and real cream frosting. Today, you don’t know what’s in them. All natural has a whole new meaning. The cream tastes more like oil and the cake tastes more like a sponge.

The girls would rather have a homemade cake anyway. They’ve never asked for a twinkie and I’ve never had a desire to want to share that childhood experience with them. Furthermore, twinkies never expire or get stale. There’s something really wrong with that. How hard is it to make real cake and use real sugar and real cream? Maybe the cost is prohibitive. I don’t know. Nevertheless, being conscientious about what I allow the girls to eat, has  been the topic of many conversations. I just don’t think junk food, too many sweets and soda is good for them. My friends and family say, “You ate it when you were their age!” I say, “So! I didn’t know any better then. I know better now.” While, I don’t think these things are detrimental, I also don’t think they are essential and I know the girls can do without it.

,

Keep in Touch!

Thanks for your support! It means the world to us.

2 Comments on “The girls have never had a Twinkie!”

  1. Tomika Camper Says:

    This is so funny a few days ago I grabbed a box of twinkies, knowing I shouldn’t but got them because they said “banana flavor” thought they were new. I got so sick from a bite, SMH, I knew better. I dont know if my body just rejected the sugar or what but the rest of the box went down the garbage desposal so Tonii wouldn’t gind them. Homemade cake from here on out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

