What do you want to be remembered for?

January 22, 2011

General

When I think about my legacy, I think most about how the girls will remember me. I’d like them to have plenty of fun memories. I’d like to think I’ve made them laugh enough, smile enough, think enough and question enough. When they remember me, they should remember not just what I’ve said to them but the examples I’ve set. I’ve never asked them to do anything I wasn’t willing to do myself. Never said, “Do as I say, not as I do!” šŸ™‚ Because that would be impossible. Kids memic what they see whether you want them to or not.

I’d like to be remembered for trying to make the best changes possible. Today my top priority is Ā managing Madi’s sickle cell and being a force for a cure. But that does not consume me. I’ve decided that I am an activist. I will get up and DO! I will DO for sickle cell disease. I will DO for social injustice. And, I will DO for families. I’d like to be remembered for that. Deciding now, in what capacity I will do these things is not necessary, since there are so many great movements happening in America and even in southeast Michigan. However, I’d like to be remembered for having volunteered in many capacities for several non-profit organizations that are instrumental in affecting change.

I’d like to be remembered as a good friend and sister. As someone who my friends could depend and count on. Ā Remember me as a leader, an individual, a writer and a good listener. I’d like people to talk about me and have funny stories to tell. When my friends reflect on me, I want them to laugh, and I hope they’ll say, “She was a fun-loving, goal oriented person, who gave great personal and professional advice.”

Finally, I’d like my friends and family to know that I was exactly who God decided I would be and that was FAR from perfect but, I’ve done the best I could.

Keep in Touch!

Thanks for your support! It means the world to us.

One Comment on “What do you want to be remembered for?”

  1. Tomika Camper Says:

    Words of Love xoxoxo I am so “enjoying these blogs if only everyone put Helping others in the top 5 of their life goals.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

